How can we help you?

in Lists and ContactsSubscribers

How to Clean Inactive Subscribers From Your List

In this tutorial you will learn how to:

  • Manually Clean your List – One-time process
  • Automatically Clean your List

Please Note: Only subscribers that have been on the list for a minimum of 30 days and have been sent at least one email will be cleaned. 

If you would like to clean subscribers that have been added in the past 30 days, creating a segment is the best way to do so. You can learn more about segments here.


1. Start by navigating into a list through the “Lists” tab.

2. Select the “Subscribers” tab. Then select “Hygiene”.

3. You will be prompted with two options:

Option 1 allows you to clean inactive subscribers from your list one-time in a certain period.

Option 2 will self-regulate the cleaning of your lists by letting our platform remove inactive subscribers automatically to keep your account fresh and help maximize your email delivery.

4. With the one-time manual option, you can select the # of days the subscriber has been inactive. You will be removing subscribers that have been inactive for this time period.

The system will automatically take the people who have not opened or clicked on any of your emails in the last X amount of days and remove them from your account.

At Sendlane, we recommend placing this setting at 90 days of inactivity.

Once you click on “Remove Active Subscribers”, the process will run in the background, and you’ll be alerted as soon as it’s complete.

You will receive a list of the deleted subscribers in your email when the system has processed your request.

This list will also be available at the bottom of the “List Hygiene” page for each list.

5. With the automatic list hygiene option, you’ll set the # of days in which the subscriber you will automatically remove has been inactive.

At Sendlane, we recommend placing this setting at 90 days of inactivity.

Then, select how often you want this list cleaning process to run (We recommend every 15 days).

Our system will remove and email you a copy of your inactive (now deleted subscribers) list and also keep a copy at the bottom of the page, per list, so you can keep it in your storage.